Chapter 302

Volume 8 Chapter 302

Ed looked at Alain’s face, which was thinner than when he had just escaped from prison. 

‘To think they came back to the Empire solely because of their concern for Liloa… Where else can one find more sincerity than this? Liloa may act stoic on the outside, but even I, who hasn’t been naturally attentive to emotions, can easily guess that these guys’ sincerity moved her. She must’ve been overcome with intense emotion. After all, the bond she shares with these people is probably thicker than the one she shares with her family.’ 

Ed gently lowered his head.

“Everyone does.”

“And… I also believe in goodness.”

“Goodness?”

“We live in a crazy world, don’t we? Still, Anunchio, that old man, preached about goodness as if it were religion. He said that goodness would save us. Isn’t that ridiculous? He’s a complete idealist.”

Ed remembered Anunchio’s cheerful face.

“And you didn’t believe in that?”

“I’m not as good-natured as Captain Anunchio, but I knew better than anyone else that we couldn’t win a war against the Empire. So, I wanted to believe in the vain hope of that so-called goodness. Then one day, I met a captain who told me that there was no need to rule with the whip. Hearing her say that, I couldn’t help but be fascinated.”

“I see.”

“I was possessed, but at the same time, I thought I was crazy for being swayed. I mean, what kind of logic does one need to have to come up with something like that? But she did it in the end. The Bell Rock is the living proof of that goodness. Anunchio believed that Lil Schweiz’s way would save us. That’s why he brought in the Captain despite the opposition of the other captains. If there is a genius who is unique in the world, it’s Lil Schweiz.”

Ed couldn’t help but laugh at Alain’s last sentence. But since his vocal cords were dry, it came out more like a sneeze. In the end, he was only able to respond after drinking another glass of water.

“I agree with you on that.”

Alain smiled broadly and looked up at the ceiling.

“That’s how you and I ended up here. I’m very proud of our Captain, who was able to bewitch someone as terrible as the Admiral.”

“I thought I was the only one who was aware of that fact…”

“Don’t make me laugh, Doctor. There’s no one among the Bell Rock’s sailors who didn’t notice.”

“Is that so?”

Bursting into laughter, Alain nodded his head.

“It’s true.”

“Well, that’s rather embarrassing.”

Suddenly, Alain handed him stew in a rough bowl.

‘Judging from the addition of meat, it looks like they have been hunting.’

“Eat some if you can. The Captain caught a rabbit last night. I knew she was an excellent shot, but I didn’t know she was a good hunter as well.”

Even though Ed had no intention of refusing, he also didn’t want to ask Alain to feed him, so he grabbed the spoon himself. It took him all the effort he could muster, but he refused to drop the spoon. Fortunately, Alain was kind and patient enough to hold the bowl for him. Goosebumps rose all over Ed’s body, but no matter what, he shouldn’t pass out again now. Ignoring the strange sense of solidarity, Ed settled for his meal without saying anything.

***

Lil lay motionless on her stomach. As she was concentrating on her vision, a curly-haired face suddenly popped out.

“Captain! Are you still alive up there?”

Lowering her gun, she gestured for Jericho to move next to her.

“Quiet.”

“I thought you were dead because it was so quiet up here. You know, I lived worrying about whether you were dead or alive every day, and now it seems that I just can’t bring myself to stop.”

“What? Worried?”

“…”

When Jericho nodded his head, Lil sighed and asked back with a look of disdain.

“You? Worried? For me?”

“Why not?”

“You’ve grown a lot, Jericho.”

“Captain.”

Lil gestured once again as he kept stalling.

“What? Get out of the way quickly.”

Still, Jericho remained steadfast, annoying her more than ever before.

“You must survive. I was so worried, so you must. All right?”

“I’m not going to die, so don’t worry about me. Worry about yourself instead. When we’re out of here, I’ll put you on a merchant ship heading south, so just pretend to be a sailor and disappear in Amiaeng.”

“What do you mean you won’t die? You said it yourself. You came back from death, but you’re completely okay now?”

“I thought we had gone through this yesterday.”

“But Grandpa didn’t ask about this yesterday.”

“Do I look like I’m dying?”

“…No.”

“Then what’s the problem?”

“I’m trying to be sure because that’s what they entrusted me with.”

“What do you mean ‘they’?”

“Do you think there were just one or two people who asked to get off the Bell Rock and come back here? Ever since Grandpa told everyone at the Devito Harbour about the news of the Captain’s kidnapping, everyone was of one mind.”

“Hah. Are you trying to make me cry?”

“…”

Lil clenched her trembling neck. She continued, hoping her voice was still okay.

“Go now.”

“Do you have any idea how difficult it was for just me and Grandpa to come here? We almost came in droves.”

“Okay. I appreciate that. Really.”

Jericho grumpily pouted and grumbled.

“…Is that it?”

“What else do you expect me to say?”

“Even if you died and came back to life, you’re still the same, huh?”

“Get that face out of my line of sight before I shoot you. And for the love of god, stop pouting!”

Jericho, with his eyes open in a triangular shape, disappeared down just as he tucked in his lips. Lil shook her head in amazement and tried to focus again. But Jericho’s inner grumbles could be heard all the way up to the rooftop. 

In the end, Lil failed to concentrate, leading her to blurt out her words in a rapid fire.

“Okay, okay, I got it! Thank you so, so much!”

She could hear Jericho laughing happily from below. Just as she was about to tell him to be quiet, Alain opened the window and spoke.

“Captain, the doctor has awakened.”

Lil wanted to see him in person, but she didn’t have the confidence to hide her feelings. And even if she could, they were in an especially complicated situation now too, so she wanted to remain as composed as possible. Moreover, as Alain said, they would never know when smugglers might strike. So instead of Lil coming down to see Ed, she ordered Jericho, who was still below the roof.

“Jericho, you go. Ask him about any helpful medicinal herbs around here, then go and dig them up.”

“Aye, Captain!”

***

Unsure of the number of hours that had already passed, Lil lay motionless. Even though the crown of her head occasionally grew hot, the shade of the leaves quickly cooled the back of her head again. The breeze made the heat negligible. 

‘Jericho finished gathering the herbs a while ago. Unless something strongly unfortunate happens, Linhardt should reach us before sunset at the latest. Even considering the time it will take to mobilise the guards and organise a search party, it shouldn’t take long for him to circle back from the cliff, enter the forest and reach the shore.’

Lil, who was carefully identifying potential factors that could cause Linhardt’s delay in reaching them, belatedly noticed Alain’s presence on the roof.

“Captain, Jericho and I take watch outside so that you can assess the doctor’s condition for yourself. Please take note of his face, it really took a turn for the worse.”

Lil answered without taking her eye off the vizor.

“I know he’ll live.”

“Is that all you can say about someone who came back from the dead?”

“He never died in the first place.”

“What are you talking about? His whole body felt like it was on fire last night. If it weren’t for the herbs gathered by Jericho, he would’ve been in big trouble.”

“Since when did you become so attached to Ed?”

“Since when? Haven’t I always been fond of him?”

“That’s bullshit.”

“Anyway, I may not be as good as the Captain, but I know how to handle a rifle, so hurry up and get in there. Jericho and I will each take care of a route, so don’t worry.”

“We barely got off the ship, but immediately, neither Grandpa nor Jericho listens to what I say anymore. Why are there so many nags? It makes me feel like I’m out on the sea with ten navigators in tow.”

However, Alain didn’t heed her complaints and casually grabbed the gun barrel, leaving Lil without any choice but to hand it over obediently. Jericho then came up to the roof. As if she were switching places with him, she gave him space and climbed down the ladder of logs.

Standing under the shade and feeling the forest breeze for a while, she cooled off her sweat. Every time the sea breeze blew, the lush blades of grass rubbed against each other and created a calming harmony. 

Lil glanced at the sea, it was peaceful with no sight of any incoming ships. It was a scene that meant that the smugglers hadn’t landed yet and she regarded that fact as a pure stroke of luck. But as Lil turned around and entered the cabin, the back of her head felt cold for no reason…

– – – – –

Chapters

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started